Class Details

In addition to participating in the general audience classes listed below, departments and work groups within MD Anderson and UTHealth can also request a safety class by contacting Community Outreach at 713-563-7794 or utpdoutreach@mdanderson.orgClick here to refer to a full list of classes..


Active Shooter Prevention & Response

The course provides faculty and staff with critical guidance on how to recognize and survive an active shooter situation as well as how to identify behaviors of concern that may signal the need for intervention to prevent a violent incident from occurring. (1-hour course) 

Tuesday, December 4, 2018 11 a.m.-12 p.m. FC1.2002
Thursday, December 13, 2018 12 p.m.-1 p.m. School of Public Health, SPH102A
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 11 a.m.-12 p.m. FCT3.5001
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 11 a.m.-12 p.m. FCT3.5001
Tuesday, April 2, 2019 11 a.m.-12 p.m. FCT3.5001
Tuesday, May 7, 2019 11 a.m.-12 p.m. FCT3.5001
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 11 a.m.-12 p.m. FCT3.5001
Tuesday, July 2, 2019 11 a.m.-12 p.m. FCT3.5001
Tuesday, August 6, 2019 11 a.m.-12 p.m. FCT3.5001

Identity Theft Awareness

The course teaches attendees about various kinds of identity theft, ways to protect against identity theft and the impact identity theft can have on its victims. The course also discusses action steps and resources for identity theft victims. (1-hour course)

Thursday, December 13, 2018  11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. UCT1505C


Verbal Defense and Influence 

The course teaches individuals to defend and deflect words with proven strategies that can turn a heated conversation to their advantage while keeping tension to a minimum. VDI has been taught to hundreds of thousands worldwide over the last 30+ years and has been shown to reduce complaints, liability and injuries, while improving team performance, morale and overall safety. (1-hour course) 

Tuesday, January 15, 2019 11 a.m.-12 p.m. FCT3.5001
Tuesday, February 19, 2019 11 a.m.-12 p.m. FCT3.5001
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 11 a.m.-12 p.m. FCT3.5001
Tuesday, April 16, 2019 11 a.m.-12 p.m. FCT3.5001
Tuesday, May 21, 2019 11 a.m.-12 p.m. FCT3.5001
Tuesday, June 18, 2019 11 a.m.-12 p.m. FCT3.5001
Tuesday, July 16, 2019 11 a.m.-12 p.m. FCT3.5001
Tuesday, August 20, 2019 11 a.m.-12 p.m. FCT3.5001